Nebula Award Winners

The Nebula Award recognizes teams of employees for their accomplishments. The team demonstrates hard work and determination for a particular project or task which could include development sprint team or a team established to complete a short term project.

The Nebula award is awarded twice each year during ;the Summer and Winter. The winning team receives a cash bonus that is split evenly between team members. This is a great way to award teams and student employees for going above and beyond the call of duty within their testing groups.;

Congratulations to our award winners!

Winter 2021: Viavi Team

The Viavi MLTT test team completed their third Full Regression testing cycle of the Viavi MLTT 7.4 I/O application in the last 4 years. The Full Regression test effort is a 7 week effort to perform over 1200 tests against the MLTT Application.  1200 test cases are a lot to undertake and considering this happens on 9 Operating Systems, including one new OS and you can get a good picture of the project.  The four members of the Viavi team were able to perform this testing on both Windows and Linux platforms within the allotted 7 week test window. This new MLTT release also included support for the latest NVMe SSD products in the storage industry.  The UNH team also took over updating of the Users Guide for this product during this release.  The group showed its ability to multitask work items, learn new technologies, all the while assisting new student hires.  This testing took place during the summer break period while all students were working remotely and really showed their ability to innovate, overcome obstacles, and manage the division of work. This team showed what good communication and teamwork can accomplish.  Great work Aurora Desmarais, Kevin Rhoades, William Lee, and Liqi Li. Keep up the great work, MLTT 7.5 is on the horizon.

Summer 2020: USP Team 

Alan Lagace and Ben Patton have been involved with the Broadband Forum’s User Services Platform since the first plugfest that the IOL hosted. They have worked with vendors testing their implementations from the very beginning. They continued their work in this area by validating the official test tool of the new Broadband Forum USP Certification Program. This work was integral to the launch of the certification program. Alan and Ben collaborated with participating vendors, QACafe, and the Broadband Forum BUS Working Group to resolve issues prior to the launch of the program. They took the technical lead on the project, making sure the test tool was true to the test plan. They showed commitment to getting this work done correctly and with integrity to the specification, which will allow for a successful certification program in the future.

Winter 2019: OPNFV Team 

The OPNFV Team, Parker Berberian and Sawyer Bergeron, have done outstanding work in the Lab as a Service (LaaS) project, working directly with the Linux Foundation and the open source community  to develop and deploy the LaaS 2.0 implementation. This new release enables community users to book multiple hardware resources (servers), while configuring the underlay networking to create a single larger resource that can be used for OPNFV or ONAP deployments and development support. This work has required large scale improvements to the existing infrastructure, including control of the switches to automatically provision the networking to meet the user's requirements. To enable that feature, Parker and Sawyer had to create information models to capture the user's configuration via the web portal, and then the lab back-end systems act upon that configuration. Parker and Sawyer regularly participate in Linux Foundation meetings, providing status updates and reports on their development progress, while also supporting users of the service, answering questions, and providing debugging support. They both respond extremely well to feedback from the industry and their peers, and have helped set a positive feel to the Open Source efforts (OPNFV, DPDK, OFA, etc.) within the UNH-IOL. Their leading role in this Linux Foundation project has helped pave the way for future open source projects and collaboration.

Summer 2019: PoE Team

2019 was an exciting and challenging time for the PoE team, Marc Tausanovitch, Joe Lagasse, Tim Ryan, and Matt Dodge, where they were faced with the monolithic goal of developing a full test solution of HW and SW for the upcoming ‘Gen-2’ Ethernet Alliance Certification Program. This testing solution needed to evaluate the conformance of ‘4-Pair’ PoE devices. These PDs (Powered Device) and PSEs (Power Sourcing Equipment) are defined in Clause 145 of IEEE 802.3, generally recognized as one of the most convoluted and controversial standards in recent IEEE 802.3 history.

One of the greatest opportunities an IOL employee encounters during their time at the lab is to put their mark on a test tool that will get use for years to come.  Sometimes this means improving an existing tool for further test coverage or to improve testing efficiency. Other times, a team is essentially starting from a blank slate. The current PoE team has been an impressive example of the latter.

This PoE team has been impressive with the undertaking of this project from both an internal and external perspective. The team learned to act as IOL representatives exemplifying our thought leadership by working with experts in the Industry. From frequently changing test plan procedures, to unforeseen development challenges, great progress only occurred because of an understanding and commitment to the common goal, and hard developed team dynamic.